Health Month! Starting… next month.

Image

Working full time.

It’s such a “normal” concept, but I had a really hard time adjusting. What I found really jarring was gaining about 10 kg after starting full time work. I wasn’t moving much and yet I craved food more than usual – What’s up with that, body?

Exercise is really hard to incorporate into my routine. I either have to wake up super early or force myself to work out after work when I’m tired and hungry. It’s dangerous for someone like me who is prone to procrastinating physical activity. It’s just another option on the never-ending “Reasons Not to Exercise” list.

So, in lieu of my 24th birthday (groan), I’m going to do a bit of a health month. I hope it extends beyond a month, but I need to start somewhere. I’m going to be really careful with what I put in mouth. My monthly donut day at work will be sacrificed. Alcohol consumption will be limited to gin and soda with a twist of lime – beer and wine begone! Dairy is out, not that I can eat much of it since I am a bit lactose intolerant. I think the main thing is portion size. It’s going to be really tough, but I did it in 2011 and I can do it again!

And exercise! Oh, the exercise. I know what I have to do. I’m not even going to explain this.

So why do I want to do this? Good question. The crux of it is, I’m not happy with the shape I’m in and I want to do something about it. I’m not happy about how it affects my confidence. I’m not going to become an insane gym junkie or anything, or dedicate my life to exercise. I did that for a month and while I lost 8 kgs, it’s not a sustainable lifestyle. The main thing is to incorporate healthier habits into my routine. It’s much more realistic.

I also hope health month helps me mentally. It’s constantly eating at me that I’m not valuable enough to be a part of society. I want to be happier and more confident. I’ve been feeling intense bouts of self doubt and these “bouts” last longer and longer, making it hard for me to do simple tasks. I feel I’m more indecisive than usual and I’m not taking as much initiative in my life as I want to be because I’m scared of failure. I know it’s stupid and the logical side of me understands failure is just part of the learning process.

So anyway, I’ve got a lot of things I want to “improve”. I guess I could blog about the experience, but we’ll see.

Have you ever done a health month?

2 thoughts on “Health Month! Starting… next month.

  1. I’ve found I’ve lost a bit of weight since working – mostly because I walk every morning (almost 2 miles) to the train station and it gives me a bit of exercise. Sometimes I’m really good with food – other times I’m just craving crisps and soft drinks!

  2. The trick is not to overdo it with the health month, but it’s a good start. Maybe I will cut my drinking during your health month :). Love your blogs, keep the good work.

Leave a Reply

