Grit

I feel like I haven’t properly rested this weekend. I’ve been fortunate enough to volunteer on a feature film. While I’m learning so much about post-production, I’m finding the job a little demanding, especially when I’m already working full time. I’ve been stressing about it all week and I couldn’t stop thinking about it on the weekend. I just can’t switch off. It’s actually affecting my quality of sleep. On Friday, I felt pretty close to breaking down in tears and throwing up. Not nice.

The main reason for stress is being unable to solve a workflow problem. Once I think I’ve figured it out, there’s always an error! And you can’t fix it, so you have to work around the problem. When I finally do find a solution, some other problem arises and the cycle repeats. It’s like trying to solve a Sudoku puzzle, but you keep placing a number in the wrong box, which means you have to start again. I feel my value as a team member is dependent on how effective and efficient my solutions are. Since everyone is so experienced, I need to be functioning at the same level. This means I need to do more research and more practice, and the time it takes and the information overload can get a tad overwhelming.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m loving all the knowledge and I’m so very grateful for the experience. I’m just feeling, well, like this cat:

I’ve escaped back home to the mama and the papa and the wee bears to de-stress. Been eating loads of home toasted pecans (so much for Health Month!) and seeing my dogs always makes me feel calmer. I guess I just have to try to predict as many problematic scenarios as I can and find their solutions (easy as!), because I have a feeling there will be a few other issues that will arise in the coming weeks. I need to be prepared so I’m not in my current state of mind.

What did you guys get up to this long weekend? How do you combat stress?

Leave a Reply

