The unrealistic strife for perfection

I’ve had a really weird week last week and am now suffering from what could be a stomach ulcer. It’s really annoying as I can’t eat normal food. I can’t do any painting tonight because my back hurts too much. SO MUCH SAD FACE.

I was asked to do some art for two friends last week. One is a children’s book, the other is like a humorous manual for young adults. Since I know more about the children’s book, I’ve been thinking about what I wanted to paint for it and decided to play with acrylic paint.

I haven’t used arylic paint since I was about 19 and I took up watercolour painting last year. It was really tough at first, almost like unlearning everything about watercolour and re-learning acrylic. And as always, I was over thinking everything, obsessing over whether or not the artwork looked real.

I also had to remind myself that when I painted when I was younger, I did have a distinct painting style, so trying to remember what I did then was tough. I got pretty frustrated and I ended up painting this awful thing:

Screen shot 2014-08-18 at 8.33.55 PM  

I laughed it off and did a second painting, which turned out much better. I think it was because I didn’t have high expectations with this one and of course, it turned out better than expected.

 Screen shot 2014-08-18 at 8.33.33 PM

I’m hoping my stomach gets better and I have some more time to do more painting for the kid’s book and start working on the young adult manual.

In other awesome news, one of my blog posts has been featured on Tigress Mag For Girls! Editor Freya Bennett asked me if I would be interested in submitting something and I edited an old blog post I did last year about subtle racism, which she liked enough to put on her awesome site. Do check out all the other writing and artwork on that site, it’s all bloody amazing!

Here’s my blog post: http://www.tigressmagforgirls.com/tigress-magazine/2014/august/where-are-you-from

You can find them on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/tigressforgirls

 

 Also, this gorgeous artwork is by Alejandra Hernandez, which was paired with my blog post! I really love this painting!

Leave a Reply

