What would you do if you weren’t afraid?

What would you do if you weren't afraid?

May I please say what a lovely day it is today? I’m actually writing this post in our backyard, although I can feel the computer getting a bit hot.

Yesterday, I had the pleasure to attend the Ausmumpreneur Conference at Rydges on Swanston. I presented a talk about crowdfunding and was lucky enough to stay for the whole conference and I learned so much amazing from so many inspiring women. Even though the conference was catering for mums doing their own business, so much of the information was applicable to any woman trying to do their own thing.

I think for me, the most inspiring talk was by Heat Group founder Gillian Franklin. She detailed her career as a woman in business in the pharmaceutical and cosmetics industry and was beyond inspirational. She detailed some of the things she was trying to do to close the gender gap in the workplace and also detailed her passion to make her workplace a support and flexible environment, especially for employees who have children. She was incredibly inspiring.

After the conference, my head was buzzing with so much information. I read a few more chapters of Sheryl Sandberg‘s Lean In. There is a section where she asks some graduates what they’d do if they weren’t afraid. I thought I’d ask myself the same question.

My main fear or worry is not having a source of income to support myself. If those fears were completely eliminated, I would like to believe I would fill my day with lots of reading, painting, drawing and writing. I would set up an etsy store that stocks tote bags, wrapping paper, tea towels and some T-shirts. I would visit more art galleries, attend classes to learn more about silversmithing and dog grooming. I would learn a musical instrument and maybe start a music project. I would do more cooking and experiment with baking (get that watercolour cookbook happening!). I would go to trivia every Tuesday or Wednesday and do some karaoke every second weekend. I would see my friends and family more often and walk Momo every day. I would make a film and write lots of screenplays if I can.

What would you do if you weren’t afraid?

Check out this tumblr: http://ifuwerentafraid.tumblr.com/

One thought on “What would you do if you weren’t afraid?

Leave a Reply

