First week of Funemployment

First-week-of-Funemployment-1

I’ve started catching up on some of the TV shows I’ve been wanting to watch. I love drama shows but I have to be in the right mood to watch them. I’m usually pretty mentally drained from work so I watch loads of (maybe too many) comedy shows. I pretty much devoured The Fall in a day and a bit and I’ve just finished season one of Fargo. INTENSE, GUYS! I’ll be moving on to True Detective. Other shows on my radar: Halt and Catch Fire (!!! Lee Pace *insert emoji with heart eyes*), Peaky Blinders, The Good Wife and Orphan Black. Hit me up with recommendations in the comments!

I’ve been doing more than just watching TV! Or at least, I’m trying to. When I was working full time, I always complained I never had time do anything creative so I’m really trying to use my time wisely now. I’m currently living at my parents’ place because I am acting chauffeur for my brother. He got a job at a restaurant and needs someone to pick him up after his late shifts. The change has been quite nice, although I do feel a little displaced. I feel reasonably relaxed at my parents’ place but I also feel like I’m living out of a suitcase, with my core belongings and clothes still at my place.

One of the things I started doing again isΒ paint with watercolour. I thought I’d do something useful while bingeing on TV shows.Β It’s been really great!Β I painted a sunflower which I’m really happy with. It was sort of inspired by Klimt’s sunflower painting. I tried to paint something similar in acrylic paint but it didn’t quite work out.

First-week-of-Funemployment-2

I got together with my friend Edwina, who’s got a sweet little Etsy shop full of her craft projects, for an afternoon of painting. I painted this … thing. I don’t really know what it is but I quite like it, but also feel like it’s missing something. What do you think?

First-week-of-Funemployment-3

This week I’m focussing more on music. I haven’t played my ukulele in a while so I wanted to dedicate more of my time this week to music. It’s been really fun. I’ve stopped mucking around with song covers and started playing with chords and I think I wrote a song! I just need to nail down the lyrics. I’m finding the lyric part of songs really hard, probably because I don’t really know what to write about. I guess it’s like sitting down and trying to write a poem when you don’t know what you want to convey. Anyway, it’s obviously rough as at the moment. If it’s any good (or if it’s god awful), I’ll chuck it up on Soundcloud.

What awesome projects have you been doing this week?

5 thoughts on “First week of Funemployment

  1. you must watch broadchurch if you haven’t already. david tennant being super sexy in a small town shocked by the murder of a local boy. and by “being super sexy” i mean… solving a crime.
    edwina’s shop is awesome btw! so impressed

    1. LOL I will check out Broadchurch. My friend also recommended a births series called Bletchley Circle about a bunch of women getting together to solve crimes. Sounds cool as! Yes, Edwina’s got some awesome stuff in her shop :)

  2. I just want to write a new poem this week, so I’ve started blabbing on Tumblr to get my writing muscles working again, but it seems very rusty up there in my poetic part of my brain, which is making me think of useful exercises for the workshop I’m running in a couple of weeks.

Leave a Reply

